It’s time to die!

How to Kill a Character, @ omnivoracious.

I can’t say that I’ve ever killed off a character: but after reading that article, I’m kind of itching to! I’ve certainly done plenty of other evil, unpleasant things to my characters: death just seems like the next logical step.

While I myself don’t find death to be any sadder or more shocking than any number of tragic or terrible things that could happen in a story, the taboo of character death certainly makes one stand up and take notice when it happens. The death of a beloved character is almost always memorable.

Some of the ones I remember include:

  • Beth from Little Women (I have to admit: I sobbed over that one!)
  • Jay Gatsby from The Great Gatsby
  • Paul Atreides from the Dune series
  • Romeo and Juliet from Romeo & Juliet
  • Almost everybody in Hamlet (I’m beginning to think including Shakespeare is cheating…)
  • Winston Smith from 1984
  • Phineas from A Separate Peace (Ok, I cried over this one, too…)
  • Catherine Earnshaw from Wuthering Heights

Which have I forgotten? Which literary deaths were most memorable for you?

Leave a Reply

